Timber I joist (JJI joist) wall

Hi,

I am a newbie to VisualArq, apologies if this was discussed before, I could not find a similar thread.

I am trying to model a building made out of timber I joists such as this one below:

The finished wall has quite a few layers. Internally the frame in the photo gets a layer of OSB and an optional service cavity (50mm battens and layers of plasterboards). Externally the frame gets and exterior face, battens for ventilation cavity and cladding.

As I understand wall styles can only model homogeneous layers of materials and are not capable of handling framed walls.

If there’s a standard way to model a complex frame wall - please let me know. (In that case please do not waste your time reading the rest…)

Bellow I to explain the approach I ended up using, which is far from ideal.

So I tried to model the JJI joist wall as a curtain wall. Since curtain walls only support a single cell panel, I ended up creating multiple layers of curtain walls: one for the frame, one for the external cladding, one for the internal shells.

This snapshot below shows two layers of curtain walls, I would probably need more if I wanted to model all relevant layers.

I have several difficulties with this:

1. Instead of one wall I need to create multiple layers of curtain walls.
  2. I couldn’t find a way to properly connect corners of curtain walls. Walls connect properly by default.
    I may need to create straight wall segments and create some additional corners by hand…?
  3. Adding openings seems to be a nightmare - I need to add separate openings to each curtain wall layer. When I am trying to move an opening (or door) in on of these curtain walls, it often stops cutting through the curtain wall - this may be because of overlapping walls as far as understand it from some other threads.

Thank you and best regards,
Dora

1 Like

Hello,
It would be a really great feature.