Terracing Curved Surface

Hi everyone.

I am currently in the process of prototyping a terraced roof on a curved surface. Trying to keep my explanation as simple, my end goal is to produce something quite similar to this, only on a smaller scale:

Now, onto the issues…

1. I can’t seem to get my grid aligning evenly on a 45 degree angle like in the picture above. The current GH script I am currently using aligns the terrace blocks perfectly at 90 degrees (see image below)

While that works well, what I really want is for the blocks to be aligned on a grid set at 45 degree angle, as can be seen in greater detail in the image below.

Notice how perfect the alignment of the blocks are in the bottom right corner, this is something I am having issues trying to do. I am still quite new to GH (hence all the posts, which I do apologise about) and wasn’t to sure how to rotate in GH, as a result I rotated the surface in Rhino. The results were nothing like above, it was really messy.

The boxes just overlapped one another and it was just an eyesore. How can I solve this issue??

1. Once it’s complete, is there a way in GH to trim the excess part of the boxes that sits below the surface that is used as a guide. I tried to Boolean split it in Rhino, but it was next to impossible to go through and delete everything. Surely there is an easier way in GH to do this.

Thanks once again. Please do not hesitate to ask for further explanation if I haven’t made any sense.

Phillipe

You have started a duplicate thread and renamed the original one (where you got the code and image mentioned here) with the useless title “Solved thread”:

Each time you describe your objective, including in the PM you sent me, the details change in subtle but very significant ways. This is a classic example of how this forum is often less about explaining Grasshopper and more about teaching people how to think algorithmically.