How to apply 2 materials on the same wall

I am new to rhino so please help me with this.

My setup is : Rhino 5 SR9 64-bit Educational + V-Ray 1.5 for Rhino + VisualArq
I created a wall with VisualArq and I want to apply 2 different textures on it : brick texture on the outside and a cement texture on the inside. Can someone point me in the right direction on how to do that ?
I search on Youtube for a video that would do something like that and I couldn’t find one.

If this is not the right place to ask for help on my problems please tell me where to go and ask them.

Edit : since i post this i found something about visualARQ 1.8.
A wall that has 2 layers can have different textures on each wall.
I am trying now to accomplish that.
So far i succeeded applying a texture on a layer, the other one remaining white. (Don’t know why)

Edit 2 : I did it. I found a way to solve my problem. Please delete my question (i did not find a delete option).

Thanks a lot. I will come with other stupid/noob problems.

We don’t currently allow multiple material assigned to sub-objects, but it is being discussed.
As a work around, you can add a new surface just a little outside the wall object and apply the other texture to it. Pretty clunky but will sort of work.

I just added another feature request to the pile.

1 Like

Hi Rhose87,
Just in case somebody else gets stuck with the same problem, you can assign different materials to the layers of a wall from the wall styles dialog (_vaWallStyles command). There you can select each wall layer individually, and from the Attributes tab, assign a different material. Have a look at the image attached.
Regards,

I found that solution.
Thanks a lot mate.

Can we expect sub-object texturing in Rhino6 ? Exploding the object to be textured does not allow for flexible editing afterwards, an offset surface is not always convenient either. Thank you.