Yoshimura origami doesn't Fold correctly in Crane

Hello

I used regular yoshimura origami crease Pattern and also defined mountains and valleys in Crane plugin, but the foldation wasn’t the one that I expected as a usual yoshimura shape. what I aimed is to solve the folding process and extract the rigid origami in this area. Could you help me out in this please?

What I want to Create:

What the Result is in Crane Solver:

Yoshimura F.3dm (176.8 KB) Yoshimura F.gh (24.7 KB)
Here are the Files I used above.
Thanks in advance.

Hi,

I have no experience in using this plugin. But recently I had seen @jho using this plugin and teaching some interesting tutorials. I hope if he sees this tag he might do the helpful you need.

Cheers,
BVR

Hi BVR
I saw these videos, but none of these mentioned how to create yoshimura origami. I Completly followed the instructions, but for some unknown reason the pattern wont fold as yoshimura mountains and valleys.

How can I mange the direction of foldings? because the solver rolls the crease in wrong direction and I cannot define the axis in grasshopper? and also fold it not create a cylinder. if someone know how its done please inform me.

You maybe watched the videos but you are missing some basic understanding of fold pattern creation.

This is your file with control points of the valley folds on, notice how you just copied the lines but their ends don’t match the intersections.

But it get’s better, trun on control points for the mountain lines and zoom in, notice how the lines don’t even meet in one point?
yoshimura_re_02

How do you expect that to fold?

Fix it and it works like expected.

Yoshimura F_re.gh (24.2 KB)

3 Likes

Hi Daniel
Thanks for the advice :slightly_smiling_face: , I have no idea why this happened at all, maybe Created the lines fast or some snap displacement.
and didn’t quite understood the fabrication part, it fabricates a surface instead of the final shape