Sub d challenge 6!

Shoe!..gotta admit this one kicked my butt, most likely because I’ve never built a shoe before, and also because I started outside in (sole to last) , instead of inside out (last to sole)…

I learned (after I was done…) that you start from the inner last and layer on top of it, working outwards… I also learned that using several subd’s together works better than one big massive subd. I also learned that popping to nurbs for detailing works really well and you should have no fear or hesitation for doing so.

I can’t wait to see what you all do with this one!

Attached are my image, model and sketch I started from… Shoe.3dm (5.4 MB)

9 Likes

Hi Kyle

Sub-d workflow’s disturbed sole.

watching you-tube channel to remind you’r modeling iron.

thank you Kyle!

3 Likes

awesome!! definite improvement over mine!

Here is my attempt, I had serious problems with the InsertPoint command since the mesh in polygonal mode is very messy and does not display well where the new line will be.

3 Likes

anther type shoes modeling new version m,m;;

more steady and flexible shape

trial and error but have fun together!!

4 Likes

looks amazing!!

so here’s where I say take the time to clean up your box mode mesh, a clean mesh is much easier to manage, and will be much easier to edit.

clean box mode= clean smooth mode

thanks for the input!

I still see a big difference between 3dmax and subd

3 Likes

…And those difference are, exactly? (not being snarky, I’m genuinely interested)

the mess that is generated with the subds and how difficult it is to add InsertPoint, maybe it should be that I still haven’t mastered the subd but I think it would be very good to be able to add a line without having to convert it into a polygonal mesh.
on the other hand I also do not achieve the same rounding that I achieve using mesh