Problems importing .dwg to Rhino 5.5.3

bim
import
autocad
dxf
dwg
(Kristian Hrgetic) #1

Hi,

I’ve been working on Rhino now for already 4 years. This problem has happened to me before but never till this magnitude.

Recently I’ve been modelling interiors to further export them to twinmotion for rendering. (That another story and irrelevant for this issue)

The problem arises in the importing of CAD (BIM 3D models) from manufacturers (Grohe) to Rhino.
Till yesterday I could import all .dwg files to Rhino without any problem. I even imported other BIM 3D models from other manufacturers such as Duravit, Oli, etc. Today though, when I tried to import the .dwg files, the software did not let me.
It is worthy to remark that the downloadable files were either 3D (.rfa or .dxf) or 2D (.dwg) as there is no revit for mac, I didn’t download the .rfa version first (although I did try later through a colleague’s computer and did not succeed either). The 3D .dxf file displayed well on AutoCAD and even could be saved as a .dwg file. Nevertheless, Rhino would not let me import it - neither .dxf or the newly saved .dwg.
I even tried the commands “extract edges”, "convert to mesh/NURBS and copied the given lines/surfaces to a new .dwg file. It still would not let me import it.
What worries we the most is that after that failed first import, Rhino would not let me even import other .dwg files which I had already successfully imported previously. The only way was relaunching the software - then I could import the previous files TILL the moment I tried to import the needed .dwg (Grohe element) file, after it, Rhino would not let me import anything till relaunching the software again.

This has happened to me a couple of times, and (I do not know why) eventually the software succeeded importing the file. This time, thought, it has been already 2 hours of trying to import the element, unsuccessfully.

Any ideas?

(Wim Dekeyser) #2

Hi - could you share a file that is not importing?