Clayoo Or T-Splines?

Is Clayoo a realistic alternative for T-Splines yet?

Looking for any input/advice or your recommendations, as I am balancing on the precipice of purchasing one or the other.

I have some experience using T-Splines, and really liked it, just taking a look at Clayoo trial to see how it compares.

Would appreciate any input on the fundamental differences between how the two work. Any personal preferences/advantages of one over the other?

Thanks in advance,

David.

Tsplines Replacement

Hi David,

I am not an expert on Clayoo but if you think of Rhino and by extension T-splines as industrial design tools, I think that will give you insight in to what the difference is. Rhino and by extension T-splines is a super accurate 3d modeling program that can be used for industrial design, architecture, and set design. What are you contemplating it for?

That would help us give you a more complete answer.

Hi Cosmas,

Thanks for the reply. I have used T-Splines briefly to help me produce 3D printed models for consumer product design, and I guess some of these projects could well lead onto tooling, so accuracy, continuity etc is very important to me. In fact most of my work is for RP as opposed to rendering.

I don’t doubt that at the moment T-Splines is the superior product. But it is a noticeable investment for me, and I wondered if Clayoo has the same level of accuracy and continuity as T-Splines? I don’t necessarily mind if it is not as elegant to use - as long as it works!

I have read about Clayoo using patches to build surfaces as opposed to single span surfaces, and therefore not having the level of continuity as T-Splines? I am not sure if this is still the case as Clayoo seems to have developed a lot in the last 12 months.

There is also the concern in the back of my mind that T-Splines is now Autodesk, and the negative implications that may have on T-Splines for Rhino - in contrast to the likely on-going development of Clayoo.