Wirecut doesn't seem to be working on Mac

Hi All,

I’m a newbie and I’ve been following a tutorial where I have a polysurface being cut with a polycurve and for the life of me, I’ve tried every combination and I can’t get it to work like it does in the video tutorial. I’ve even tried to extrude and split, boolean split and none of it works. With the wirecut, after I return on the Wirecut depth, the command just ends. It doesn’t ask me to select object which to keep.

Here is a copy of the fileWireCut.3dm (67.3 KB)

Any advice would be greatly appreciated…

Thanks
Michael

Hi Michael, it looks like you’ve already made the cut needed… can you explain more. Wirecut will use the normal (Z axis) of the active construction plane or Cplane as it’s called for the direction of the cut. In this case your cutting profile is also not touching at two corners and can’t be joined into a closed curve. This might be the problem but again I’m not sure what you want to cut at this point. Let me know and I can try to help more.

Hi Michael,
I made you a quick video on a possible Wirecut scenario on this model.
Also I closed the model so it is solid and it is attached. Now the Wirecut produces solids.
This may not be exactly what you want, but it may give you a tip or two that will get you going.
using wirecut.3dm (248.3 KB)

Sincerely,
Mary Fugier

Thanks so much for the quick response. Thanks for video, nice to see it. Awesome customer service. So if I split the curve I was able to do the wire cut. If I had a closed curve it wouldn’t wire cut.

I’ve attached the Wire Cut before I split it, so you can verify whether you can wire cut on the mac.

Also, If I extrude the curve and try and split the polysurface it comes up with the following error
Split failed, objects may not intersect or intersections may not split object.

I’ve included both examples in the file. The first is the wirecut, the second is for a split.