Use 3D Voronoi on a distorted face. Need to get it done today. Please help!

Hello everybody,

I recently tried to create a bubble shape with a 3D Voronoi Texture. I first created a simple box shape to try it out. And everything worked perfectly. Now I need to create that bubble pattern into a complex shape (An extruded patched surface (So it will be curves and no polylines that form that surface later on)). Because everything in this file is loading very long and nothing worked, I decided to go back into the box testing. For that, I just tried distorting the box to get the same effect. Now I noticed that my Nodetree is not working anymore. I do get the error messages from the pictures below:

Here is the same script with ones the cube and ones the distorted cube:

I am a beginner to Grasshopper, so it might be something simple here. I don’t know if these are the right nodes to do this kind of cutting, but that’s what I found when I searched the internet and this forum.
Thanks for your help!

DistortedCubeTest.gh (13.0 KB)

I don’t entirely understand what you’re trying to do, but it seems like you might be able to do the distortion at the very end of the process instead of at the beginning.

Thanks for the quick answer!
So the masterplan looks something like this (I hope I don’t make it to complicated):
I have created a repeatable pattern that looks something like this:

Now I fill the repeatable pattern with the bubbles. For that I create a Voronoi over the complete filed of all 7 Tiles (otherwise it won’t be repeatable):

Then I say that all bubbles that don’t touch my repeatable pattern should be deleted
The end product looks like this:

The End Product is flat though:

Flat

But it should be rounded. And I changed the shape to this one over here:

Now I’d like to fill that shape with the bubbles as well. For that I need to cut the voronoi (it always comes as a box) because that is how the shape of the bubbles get created.