Spiral path

Hello guys,
I’ve a little problem regarding a creation of a path.
I have a loft shape divides in some layers thanks to the “contour” tool. Every contour has 3 offset curves. My scope is to generate a spiral path between the offset curve, inside each layer. I created the path for one layer but I’m not able to repeat the operation in the next one. How could I solve it?

Spiral path.gh (23.3 KB)

Dear @Giulia_Riccardi
add a grasshopper tag to the topic - this will attract the right people.

I had a fast look at your definition - you can exchange the Flip-Matrix components with PathMapper.
for a starting point - the mapping expression will be similar to
{A;B;C}(i) → {A;i;C}(B)
you can adapt the Datatree - organisation to also work with multiple curves…

I might find time to dig into it deeper → see my post below.

kind regards - tom

Thanks for your reply. Unfortunately, I’m not an expert in grasshopper and therefore using the “path mapper” is always a bit difficult, however I will try to experiment with it.

1 Like

I fooled around with data trees for awhile before I gave up and rewrote your ‘SPIRAL PATH’ group, dropping Offset Curve completely. See the white group ‘spiral path 2’. It matches your ‘ONE CURVE’ test and works for all contours.

Spiral path_2023Sep15a.gh (28.3 KB)

4 Likes

thank you very much. I didn’t know how difficult could be managed the offset curve!!

Joseph - I won’t be able to try your solution for a few days, but do you think it would work if the base geometry’s contours had corners instead of being smooth curves?

(this is more a personal message @Giulia_Riccardi , not sure if it is interesting for others)

I tried to not change the logic of how the geometry is created.
My approach mainly focuses on organising the datatrees.
I also have to say - if someone asks me to do something like this i would do it with a script (component).