Rhino Groomers

Dear Rhino riders (users),

I am not the most articulate or eloquent of folks but do read this with an open mind. This is just my view of things.

I am a developer who started with computers in the early 80s, ZX81, Vic 20, Commodore 64, BBC Micro (my intro to computers and programming)

BBC micro 32K can you imagine? Anyway back to the point. Micros were a giant leap for an average kid in the 80s. you could actually get your name on the screen, get colours, shapes, can make it move, can make it talk, yes BBC did have a speech synth! and so did other micros!!

The micros were an interactive toy for a particular type of kids and I still dont know what that types isā€¦
Kids wanted to learn more and more stuff to get cool things on the screen, effects, speed, shapes all those stuff. some of us could even remember memory address to service routines, vectors etc.

This influenced a lot of kids to get in to programming and especially in to graphics programming. If you ask some of the veteran CAD coders for their story then I am sure most of them would have had a micro in the 80s.

Then the hardware technology began to accelerate at a very high rate and then came the IBM PCs and the clones and micros slowly started to disapear and with that went the opportunity to easily do graphics programming until the advent of windows 95 and DirectX and then OpenGLā€¦

Why I have mentioned all this is that I have not felt the same until I got my coding hands on Rhino and I feel so invigorated. Rhino/McNeels & Associates offer me a lot through their product and their business model.

Open everything, well almost, they do have to make money and so do we. They offer RhinoCommon, OpenNURBS, NFR for developers, even the web site is open sourced.

Those who embrace open source are those who have belief in their ability and care about what they do, IMHO.