Rhino files on server are locked


#1

I’ve been struggling with this problem before,
The current setup is:
Mac 10.9 server with shared storage

Klients:
Parallels 10 with win8 and Rhino 5.

Problem:
Sometimes the users are not allow to overwrite files on the server.

I have given the users “full control” permissions on the fileshare, so they should be able to create, delete move, but from within Rhino they gey this error.
They can, as a workaround, save the file under a new name.

Is this normal or is this an issue because they are not using a windows server ?

kind regards
Lars


(Pascal Golay) #2

Hi Lars - unfortunately, all bets are off when Parallels or other virtualization enters the picture - some users do very well with it but I have no idea how it would affect this situation and no good way to test it.

-Pascal


#3

However, I have this occasionally happen on our university network and the servers are not Macs.

I always get the file replacement failing with the .bak, during the save process - so what happens is if “create bak files” is not enabled in Rhino, I get an error on the command line and the .bak file on the server is not deleted.

And sometimes I get the complete refusal to save, saying it can’t overwrite. This seems to depend on the subdirectory somehow, although we all have read/write permissions everywhere on out partition of the server.

–Mitch


#4

Hi Mitch
Thanks for that info, are you running windows machines connected to windows servers ?

regards
Lars


(John Brock) #5

Read/Write permissions aren’t adequate.
You also need rights to create/delete/rename

If your network permissions limit you to only read/write, then as a work-around, you’ll need to save your files locally, and when you’re done, use the Windows file Explorer to copy your files up to the network drives.


#6

We have all that. No other program I use has the slightest problem with files on the server, and I can create/delete/overwrite files, folders whatever.

–Mitch


(John Brock) #7

Rhino V5 does a special file saving “dance” to minimize the risk of Windows screwing up the save. Here’s how it works:
When you open an existing 3DM file for editing, Windows marks the file as “in use” so other people on the network can’t open the same file for writing. Then a temporary file is made to keep track of your edits. When you Save or Exit, the old 3DMBAK file is deleted (if it exists), the 3DM file you opened is renamed 3DMBAK and normal rights are restored, and the temp file is renamed to 3DM. This process is why your need “Full” rights on the network drive, not just Read/Write permissions.


#8

Yep, understand that. As I said, I have full permissions to do ANYTHING on that server that concerns creation/destruction/modification of files folders, etc. No other program has a problem for reading, writing, overwriting, renaming, etc. on the same server in the same directories.

–Mitch


(John Brock) #9

I’ve heard of some system protection tool heuristics seeing Rhino’s little file dance as suspicious and throwing a wrench in the works. There’s no way to know if that’s what’s happening to you or not.


#10

It sounds like this is not specific to crossplatform but rather like, work locally on the files and copy them to the fileserver, when you are done ?

regards
Lars


#11

I also do this - generally because saving large files on the network can be slow. But for smaller projects where we have several people that access the same files, it’s not all that practical - what happens is that the person can occasionally forget to copy the latest version of the file back up to the network.

–Mitch


(Marc Gibeault) #12

I think that’s been discussed here before.
On servers that perform backups or duplicate files for one reason or the other (here it’s the Windows “history” feature where we can access a number of versions of our files), a new file is locked for a few seconds when it gets copied.
During that few seconds, Rhino can’t delete its .3dmbak file so it’s left there. But within seconds any user can delete these files.