Reverse engineering: convert mesh to nurbes

Hello,
I’m new to 3D scanning and looking for the best solution to utilise a huge mesh from 3D scanning (an aircraft) to build clean nurbes surfaces in Rhino. Rhino’s own conversion isn’t of use to me as it would construct thousands and thousands of surfaces/polysurfaces or crash in the process.
I’ve had a look at several third-party options and plug-ins:

• Sycode “Mesh to Solid” (they seem to be out of business, at least they never reply to any email enquiries or even a request for a trial license)
  • Resurf standalone or RhinoResurf
  • Mesh2Surface
  • Arena4D (seems to be for point clouds only, not for meshes…)

Would anyone have any advice, recommendations, etc? At the moment I’m kind of leaning towards Mesh2Surface, but I do wonder if the expense is really necessary at all?? Is Rhino capable of handling a fairly large mesh in the background while I’m hand-building the nurbes surfaces just using the mesh as a reference? I do have T-splines installed and I sometimes read that it’s useful in this process, but I’m not quite sure what the best approach would be…

Many thanks!
Jeffrey

There is a process using T-Splines but the process can be tricky. It’s definitely an art more than a science.

Regardless of the process, it usually ends up requiring a lot of tweaking and time-consuming manual adjustments. The last few times someone gave me a 3D scan, I used it for reference and built a clean Rhino surface faster.

If there is a newer / better way, I want to hear it also!

1 Like

Hi Jeffery,

VSR, now called Autodesk Shape (I think), is a useful plug-in for Rhino when performing this kind of reverse engineering. Definitely worth looking into if you can afford it.

I use the VSR multi-blend tool quite frequently.

Here is their product page. Its selling for $1,325. Some product highlights are here.