Materials won't change in render

Hi,

I’m struggling to change the material of my layers in my render. I’m able to select a material within the layer, but the new material doesn’t appear in the rendering. As you can see in the screenshot I took of my display, I’ve selected materials like “oak light” and “concrete light.” But the color icons beside the materials are white, and the materials don’t render. I’m pretty new to Rhino, so any advice would be appreciated. Thank you!

Gabe

Hi Gabe - if the object is a block, it may have its own materials set, or the object may have materials set per object and not per layer. Properties will tells you. If it is a block, you can BlockEdit and set the objects within the block to use material assignments ‘by parent’. Then it will follow the instance layer.
If it is neither of these please post an example file or send to tech@mcneel.com, with a link back to this topic in your comments.

-Pascal

Hi Pascal,

None of the objects seem to be blocks, so I don’t think BlockEdit is the solution. But I don’t have much experience with blocks, so I could be missing something. I’ve attached the file to this message so hopefully you can take a look. I was able to change the materials by using object properties for each individual object, but I’m still unable to change the materials by layer.