Learning to build thin shells using kangaroo, guidance required

I am attempting to build shell structures using Kangaroo. I am a beginner level using this plugin.
Reference images attached.

These images have shells with multiple cutouts within them. However, since being a beginner and taking small steps, as of now I am making shell structure with only one hole cutout inside it.

1. Now, the mesh that I create is not uniform. The mesh in the screenshots have very organized and systematic arrangement of cells.How can I create clean mesh with regular geometry ? Triangles are created at the edge of the larger ellipse which create a messy look. How to avoid those and have only quad faces? Alternatively, how to have only triangular faces so as to have a shape uniformity in the whole mesh?

2. Clearly, I am using an inefficient method to select vertices on mesh edges for anchor points. Currently I don’t know any other method in which I can click points only on the outermost curve to select them. The anchor points look like as if a large paperweight has been placed on them. Doing a point list, and manually entering the values appears tedious as well.
    Please guide.

THIN CONCRETE SHELL STRUCTURE ATTEMPT.gh (30.9 KB)

Have a look at the attachment. You’ll need meshmachine static.

THIN CONCRETE SHELL STRUCTURE ATTEMPT_re.gh (21.2 KB)

2 Likes

130709_allmodels-13_3
130709_allmodels-12_3
130709_allmodels-11_3
130709_allmodels-10_3
130709_allmodels-09_3
rhinovault_1416581913_3
130709_allmodels-08_3
Rhinovault

Check this out it will help you better.

1 Like

I don’t have meshmachine static as I’m using latest version of Kangaroo 2. Any method to do in latest version of Kangaroo?

I am using Rhino 6 which doesn’t support this plugin. Any trick to run this plugin in Rhino 6 ?

See the link in my posting.

Okay. Thanks. I downloaded the zip file from the web page you mentioned and copied the files in it into the Grasshopper libraries folder on my laptop.