Independence Day Resurgence Tug Design

Created for the film. Construction of the full size from the Rhino model.

Finished Set

54 Likes

oh god, what a beautiful design, this is just, amazing. like, man I suck at rhino… hahaha

2 Likes

Thank you.

You dont suck at Rhino, like all of us your learning. Be patient , give yourself time and a chance to learn and grow. You will get there. Keep in mind Ive been at this for 35 years and Ive been using Rhino professionally for over 20 years and believe me my early models were …well…lets just say I had room to learn and grow. I hope that maybe this inspired you to continue learning and developing your abilities. I look forward to seeing your work posted here soon.

Cheers,
scott

8 Likes

It is a masterwork!

After you designed the robot for a film, it surely needs to be rigged for various motions:

In which software is this stage done?

Do you do the rigging yourself or by other experts it is done?

Well actually this is a space tug not a robot . And as for movement this is a static set piece. Any movement is handled by vfx in post production.

1 Like

I called it a robot because it is considered a semi-robotic vehicle which is controlled automatically by the operators.

I think changing a complex static model like it into a dynamic model is very complicated work in VFX.

Thank you so much :slight_smile:

I emphasize again it is a masterwork

1 Like

Do you also use Grasshopper or is it just Rhino? Or maybe other plugins to make the work easier?
Wonderful job