How to parametrize a sine curve

I am new to grasshopper and I am looking for some help to build a curve similar to the photos I have attached. These photos I have easily made using Rhino. With grasshopper I was able to parametrize the points on the circumference by dividing into angles and finding connecting intersections. Now my question is how to move up and down with positive and negative values( z axis) the points in a specific dimension size and find the same points that I had found with rhino. I want to interpolate the points and have the same curve as if doing it by hand. I tried to find the mathematical function but I don’t know if this is the right way to go about this. Do you have any other strategies for me? thanks so much for your help.

This is the right way. Then use Series or Range components along with Expression component where you type in your equation (math function)

sinusoid.gh (12.8 KB)

Thanks for your reply, I tried to go ahead with the algorithm but its always similar but not exactly the same. Can you help me? thanks sinusoid.gh (11.8 KB)

By helping do you mean solve it instead of you?
It doesn’t work like this, sorry.

I gave you a start develop on top of it. Work on it. Do something yourself.

One more hint: your curve looks more like a irregular trochoid wave than a sinusoid wave.

Your curve seems to be best achieved by joining arcs, but if you want to use formulas…

You can improve the curvature by applying a X offset function coherent with the sine wave shape (replacing the top GraphMapper with something smarter).

wave.gh (15.1 KB)

2 Likes

There’s really too little information provided. What are we supposed to do, start fourier analysis? :slight_smile:

Im sorry I thought a forum is for people asking for advice and help on how to solve a problem… if you think you are too intelligent and better than everyone else then don’t reply at all. Get off your high horse.

This is your answer again.