Help with modelling a 'name plate' ring

Hi everyone!

This is my first post and i’m in need of some help with modelling a simple text ring similar to the one i’ve added to this post. Really struggling to get the desired result. I’ve attached my .3dm file to show how far i’ve got myself using various tutorials.

02-glorius

Any help would be greatly appreciated, I’m very new to rhino but trying to learn!

EXIT1.3dm (3.4 MB)

che the flow along surface command:

Hi Diego,

I’ve checked out the vid you linked as well as a few others on the same topic. I’m still having trouble modelling the ring. Could you help explain how to utilise the flow along surface tool to achieve the result I’m after?

Thanks

Here is my attempt EXIT1 CADWAX.3dm (560.6 KB)

exit cadwax

Hi Keith,

the preview looks great and is definitely what I’m after. I have rhino 5 and am unable to open your .3dm, would you be able to save as a rhino 5 file if possible?

Also, my idea for the ring was to have the text much wider so that the shank almost comes straight up to join it. Similar to the example below. Do you have any advice for achieving this?

Thanks so much for your help!

wide EXIT1 CADWAX V5.3dm (611.9 KB)

something like @KeithR made:

1 Like

I have created a plugin to automate signet rings:

1 Like

Brilliant, will try to follow this and see how far I get! thanks so much for your help

Is your plugin available for download? Thanks so much for your help I really appreciate it

I have a beta version for Rhino 7. In the “PackageManager” search for Signet - then download and install.

Hi Keith
it tried to instal your Signet Plugin…
Is it only a Windows version? because PackageManager found it and installed on my Mac successfully [which AFAIK has different installer then Windows]
Yet I get this:

Also I couldn’t find any of the tools, only the Aliases in command search…?

thanks a lot
Akash