Beginner problem with surfaces (signet)

Hi! Im an idiot beginner and im stuck trying to surface a ring shape.

I have done the sweep2 on the shank. But somehow making surfaces on the sides turned out to be a big problem. I did find some solutions that worked. However i could never get it to become an closed polysurface at the end. Surfaces seemed to have gaps inbetween them, which i cannot figure out why.

How would be the best way to surface the sides? ive have drawn to lines from top face to bottom of shank to illustrate somewhat my idea.

And then how would i make sure that it becomes a closed polysurface or solid ?

This has been discussed before. I’m sure you’ll find this helpful. Struggling With a Shape

1 Like

Hmm are you sure? Those threads deal with curved blended surfaces. While here i need to have two sharp corner edges on those blends aswell. :confused:

Is this what you are trying to achieve @survivalist?

Project the inside ring curve to the outside using _Crv2View

Create those curves that run down the outside of the band and then split them so that you can join these two.

Now you are going to sweep 2 rails using that curve you just joined and the others shown.

Next sweep the centre face.

Mirror it on the x axis.

Apply quad symmetry around zero with your corners.

Select your top curves and create that using PlanarSrf.

Take the outside curve that you created with _Crv2View, mirror it on the x and then loft it to create the inside surface.

Show your original surface and then join it all up.

Bit of a bevelled edge on the bottom of the shank but maybe that is what you were after? If not then add another straight line further up the two lines that you sweep to create the corner pieces. HTH.

2 Likes

Sochin! I am stunned by your kindness :slight_smile: Yes this is exactly what i want to do.