Capturing external shapes

I`m using rhino 6 for just a couple months now and I could use some help.

quick backstory: my company does wind tunnel testing for new buildings. So we receive the files from the client - usually heavy revit files - and then my job is to recreate that massive skyscraper into a small solid version that can be 3d printed and put into the wind tunnel for testing.

Im a professional solidworks design but since solidworks doest work very well with revit I`m using rhino as the “middle man”.

The thing is, the process we are using now is very time consuming and kind of clunky to be honest, and I can`t shake the feeling that rhino can do more than we are using it for (we are all beginners in rhino in my team).

I import the dwg file of the whole building (including interior parts) to rhino but for wind testing Im just concern with the overall shape of the exterior. The building usually has thousands of surfaces and polysurfaces, and even meshes sometimes, and they are not necessarily connected, which makes things harder. Ive been messing around with the drape command, and although it gets pretty close to what I`m looking for, unfortunately the surface it generates is way too irregular for me.

I wanna know from you guys if you know any command/feature in rhino that i might be missing. Or any workflow that would give me that exterior shape. Any help is welcome. Cheers

Saw this link: About Eddy

That seems to be a plug in for some wind flow simulations. Although interesting, that’s not exactly what I’m looking for, since the company already has that part of the process covered. I just really need a way to manage the revit file and export it as one solid body.

1 Like

Hello - see https://www.rhino3d.com/inside - that may, possibly, help your general workflow.

-Pascal