Backface visibility

unhandled

(Johnwkrieger) #1

hi, this is my first time using this forum, I am trying Rhino 6 evaluation in Windows 7 and back faces are showing up transparent. I can flip normals but the backside is always transparent. I have looked for solutions online trying different wording, not solving problem. There appears to be a cull setting shown on some sites but I can’t find anywhere in v6. I have worked with Rhino 4 for many years, never had this problem, I created simple test geometry in Rhino 6 and imported into Rhino 4, no problems in Rhino 4. I don’t see this problem listed on this forum, am I missing something simple or is this a bug?

thanks, John

(Pascal Golay) #2

Hi John - with the viewport showing the culled backfaces active, see what that display mode is and in Options > View > Display modes > Mode name click on ‘Restore defaults’ (entries will show in blue if there are non-defaults anywhere)…

Here is the exact setting:

-Pascal

(Johnwkrieger) #3

…hi Pascal…

…thank you for your quick response…the default setting is back surface using the same settings as front, as shown in the attached image…I tried the settings as shown in the image you attached, still does not work…I am using a downloaded file with Block instances which I am not that familiar with, I thought that was causing the problem. But I noticed it was happening with all new geometry I created. I did a test with a separate file creating a simple box, same problem…I can export that file to Rhino 4 and works fine…

(Pascal Golay) #4

Hi John - can you please run SystemInfo (Help menu) and paste the results here?

thanks,

-Pascal

(Johnwkrieger) #5

here’s the text…the file size has varied between 188 to 230mb…but as mentioned before, I tried a separate file and made a simple box, same prob…am working on an HP laptop, spec attached

Rhino 6 SR3 2018-3-31 (Rhino 6, 6.3.18090.471, Git hash:master @ b32d93f452fce970e96deb46bfc68b075f06b290)

Windows 7 SP1 (Physical RAM: 5.5Gb)