5 axis AB angle generation issue

Hello,

I have been a long time lurker on this forum and have found so many great solutions so thanks to everyone who has helped me so far!

I have been trying for a few days straight to write a g-code sender for a 5-axis painting machine I have built. I am having an issue with a definition which generates correct axis values based on a plane defining the tool location I want. The A and B values are almost correct, but not quite. I have made a definition from scratch which does the inverse kin of 6axis arms, so I understand some things but thats about it for my knowledge on the subject.

I have looked at the scripts from 5axismaker, camel etc but am still having trouble.

I am student who is 100% self-taught with grasshopper and have not taken linear algebra yet (which would probably fix my issue) but I am looking to the forums to see if I can get some help before I take the course in the spring. Possible I’m also just making some stupid mistake.

So far I have had a great time with this machine, especially building a 3-axis g-code sender in GH and creating GH geometry to send.

The script is a bit messy, I am in the middle of cleaning it up and will post again ASAP with a simpler and annotated file. 5 AXIS SIM.gh (509.9 KB)

Just hoping some gurus here could help me out.

Thanks,

1 Like

WOW! That is an incredibly cool model, well done.

All the nested clusters make it a challenge to understand so let me ask two questions before digging deeper.

1. Why do you want the curve tangent at each point to affect plane orientation? If the curve were on a surface, I could see using the surface normal at each point to orient a plane for the printing tool, like the Evaluate Surface ‘F’ (Frame). But this curve is on a flat surface so why create vectors skewed away from vertical?

2. The tip of the “Pen” doesn’t touch the curve division points. Is that the problem you want to solve?