[Youtrack] Reported bugs - please manage my expectations

Over the past months I have reported some bugs in the Youtrack system. Apart from trivial things in SDK documentation which I guess have beeen fixed quickly, all the bugs I reported are either submitted or open. No comments have been made by McNeel staff on any of them. No schedule on if or when I can expect these bugs to be fixed, either in V5 of V6 (both would be fine).

Now I understand that you are busy - for instance with V6 development. Still, it would be nice if you could manage my expectations on the resolution of these issues. So far, I do not see the value of reporting them, as nothing gets done. Being a software developer I know that this is the way to get these problems resolved, so I will keep reporting bugs if I find them in the hope they will get fixed.

Are there more people with similar experiences in the McNeel Youtrack system?

I don’t think you should be expecting anything different from reporting them any other way - except that you can be very sure that they are in fact on the list and that nobody had to interpret your words to get them into the right system.

I expect that issues can be on the pile for a rather long period without anyone really interacting with them in any way. Word has it that voting on issues is looked at so I guess you could try to get people here on Discourse to vote up your bugs.

Hi Menno,

The YouTrack system is what our developers work off of. So if it isn’t on this list, it isn’t going to get worked on.

In general, if an item is marked “Submitted” it has not been look at by the developer (yet). If the item is marked “Open” then the item has been read by the developer and has been deemed worth keeping.

If you feel your item hasn’t received the attention you want, you can always add a comment and “@” mention the developer, which will notify him via email. Hopefully this will trigger a response.