WISH: Undo sorting of layers

unhandled

#1

Sometimes when I want to click on one of the layer-related buttons, say New Layer [screenshot 1], I accidentally end up clicking the column header Name, which results in sorting all the layers based on their name (ascending/descending) [screenshot 2]. This messes up my originally intended organisation of the layers.

Is it possible for me to undo/get back the original layer structure in such a case?


#2

This also happens to me and unfortunately, I think the answer is “No”… you can’t get it back.

–Mitch


#3

Ah, I was afraid so. I’ll edit/add “Wish” to this post’s title, in that case.


#4

However, you can prevent this from happening in the first place by unchecking “Column sort” in the layer tools.

Dan


#5

Oh brilliant, thanks!


#6

Ah, learned something, thanks Dan…

–Mitch


#7

I have to bum this 5 year old wish! Undoing layer sorting would be great, I just accidentally sorted my layers on a large project that I was familiar with.


#8

I do this exact thing about once a year on some random project… then I curse and curse and curse.
I would love to see layer sorting included in undo-able actions!