The difference between, Snap and Osnap

I’m trying to set up an iPad app to send keyboard shortcuts to Rhino. The most frequently used will be for selecting the Snap modes. What I would like to be able to do is, a single tap on the iPad button cancels all Snaps, then sets the one for that button. Double tap on the iPad button just adds the selected Snap to what was already selected. In Commands I found the option of “OSnap Clear persistent object snaps” I assigned it a short cut, but it failed to work, I believe because the script (I’m no expert) has a missing space, this is how it appears, '_Snap _None_Enter. But even after I placed a space after _None, it did not clear the selected OSnaps, but instead closed the OSnap panel and toggled the grid snap. My Guess is that I just don’t understand something. I certainly don’t understand the difference between the two types of snaps (I’ve tried reading posts, but have been left none the wiser)

I’ve not needed the OSnaps so far, so, is there a way for me to clear the persistent Snaps with a Keyboard Shortcut?

Sorry this has been such a long and wordy question.

Thanks in advance, Chris

I created a custom tool palette “MaxzSnap” with buttons for _CenterSnap, _NearSnap, _OnCurve, etc. (see the Helpfile for more variations)
Then I used this Alias for a keystroke:
_ShowToolPalette _ToolPalette=MaxzSnap _UnderCursor=YES _Enter

I hit the relevant key, the palette pops up, and clicking anyone of those buttons will activate that object snap and at the same time temporarily disable the persistent object snaps.
(You have to start a command first before you can select one)

Instead of a custom palette you can also use the standard palette “Object Snap”

Max.

The missing space in the script that I mention (but is not being shown as I typed it above) must have been my fault. I checked the script in the default read only original, and it’s correct.

Chris