Strange text appearing on model in rendered perspective viewport

Im a student currently learning rhino on the mac beta. Ive done only a handful of models so far, but I’ve never encountered this before. When i changed the perspective viewport to rendered, some random text showed up on the surface of my model. It seems to have something to do with with my point light i have set above the model, but I’m not familiar enough with the software to come up with a reason for this to happen. Am i just missing something? Ive attached a picture below:

This appears to be a missing texture file. A texture is an image which is applied to the surface(s) of the model, it can be either saved with the file or just be a reference to an external image file somewhere on your system. In the second case, if Rhino can’t find the image (for example if it has been moved from its original location or deleted), it will put text on the surface which has the path it expects to the missing texture.

As this tutorial was made for Windows, the path to the texture file is probably different, if you have the image at all. You can go into properties for the object and either remove the texture path, or re-reference it to an image file somewhere on your system.

–Mitch

Ok I understand what you’re saying, but there’s no texture, it’s literally “red” from the color swatch. And I did another model last night with toucan materials and it did the same thing once I put a light on it.

(Marlin Prowell) #4

Please post your model and your OpenGL settings so we can reproduce this problem.

Sorry its been while since I’ve been on, not sure what you mean by model, i have a picture of the problem posted up higher in this thread. Heres the Open GL settings you asked for:

Software information

Software versions
Rhinoceros version: 5.0 Wenatchee 2014-03-17 (506)
OS X version: Version 10.9.2 (Build 13C64)

Plug-ins
None

Hardware information

Computer hardware
Hardware model: MacBookPro11,3