Rhino render not rendering texture

I have been trying to make use of some free models of people from the 3D sketchup warehouse. Several of them are fine, but a few either don’t show their textures initially or in the case of the one attached, even though the texture mapping is showing, it does not render.

I have tried numerous things to get it to work but I am no expert.

Can anyone help?CMan0007-HD2-O02P07-S_STD.3dm (7.0 MB)

So, I found a solution. Even though the textures were showing in the viewport, it would not render. The solution is to not embed textures on import so that the texture is visible as a separate jpeg. You then have to create a new material and assign the jpeg texture file to it. Then apply it to the model.

Oh, there was one other step - rhino didn’t like the long file name of the jpeg so that had to be shortened too.

It seems there are a number of bugs here!!

@dan @pascal

is there any fix on the horizon for this? I’ve just tried googling for a fix for the same problem and this thread I started 1.5 years ago is the top hit.

It really isn’t good enough that this is so broken and has been for so long.

@dan @pascal

For clarity, here are two images. The first shows what you get from the ‘render’ viewport setting. The second is what you get when you hit render.

I think it is reasonable to expect that textures rendered in the viewport should also be rendered when choosing to output a render.

Hi Robin - that would seem reasonable - my initial test works OK here, I’ll poke at it some more.

@robinp - is the file in the images above one that comes from another machine, or is it all (including textures) local?

-Pascal

Hi @pascal my earlier work around doesn’t seem to work with this latest model. Attached is the file I’m currently trying to get working. The textures are included in the sketchup file. The same result occurs whether the textures are embedded or not. Even when they are not, I cannot manually reattach them to the materials.