Single line continuous Art

Hello All,

I am an artist and i am working on a research project on portraits.
I am looking to create a single line continuous art like the image attached**( image 1,2,3).**

1.I Passed a set of points through the image sampler
2. culled away the points in the bright area using the values from the image sampler
3. interpolated a curve through the points using a simple closest pt component.
4. This is what i was able to achieve. ( image 4) .

I am looking to create something like in image 1,2,3. A continuous free-flowing curve overlapping line.

Where am I going wrong? Should the curve interpolate more in areas which are dark.?
I am really not great at scriptable components. But if you guys can guide me on this.

Best,
Shankar.Ramakrishnan

200108_Continuous line art_SHR.gh (381.4 KB)

9 Likes

nice work!

some random thoughts hopefully helpful :slight_smile:

would it work to have circle-packing your image, then generating different amount of random points inside each circle depending on its size (smaller circle = identifies a darker area = more points) ?

this way you would have different point density in your canvas

the other thought is about how to connect the points with a single line
right now, with the VisualBasic script component in use, (I guess) if you have several coincident points they will generate nothing (a length = 0 line)

but it would maybe interesting to use a different approach, in such a way the curve can go back to that very same point again and again to produce more intersections (which will mean darker area, so a more intricate pattern)

I will try to sketch this idea down in GH as soon as I’ll be back to my PC :slight_smile:

1 Like

Not cool you didn’t learn from what was given in previous discussion !!!
Point generation was discussed, same link as said by @inno

You’ll see also some one curve drawing here

If you don’t want lines to cross it is named TSP drawing.

@laurent_delrieu