Selection Rectangle

Lets say I am building an architectural model and want to select a few objects within a room. Currently I am unable to use the selection rectangle because when I do the initial click, it selects the floor, the walls or the stuff behind the objects. Is there any way to not select that which is under the cursor if the click is held and dragged into a rectangle? How do other people deal with this problem?

Either hold down Alt before you click and drag to force a selection window, or use SelWindow / SelCrossing to do the same.

Sam

1 Like

I have been using Alt to force window selection for a few years now, but sometimes it gives me trouble when I have to do window selection multiple times. I have to do Alt+Shift on the second forced window selection, which is the same keys to force sub-object selection (and I don’t always want to select sub-objects). The reason why I have to force window selection is because sometimes I have hatches or surfaces behind things I want to select.

Can I propose that window selection is always on? If I want to select the hatch/surface behind, I can click on it. Currently, if I click and drag, it selects the the hatch/surface behind (no different than just clicking). Why not re-purpose click and drag for window selection?

Maybe this issue has been addressed since my original post. Is there an option somewhere to make window selection the default?

Why not just Lock the Floor object or Lock the Layer it’s on?

Even though I have worked in rhino for years, I don’t have a very good/consistent workflow. Sometimes I build things, then assign them to layers. Sometimes I change my active layer and then build things. Is there a best practices/workflow tutorial somewhere. Sometimes I have a hatch layer, sometimes I have multiple hatch layers, and sometimes I do not have a hatch layer at all. I am pretty much the only one at my office that uses Rhino so I do not have good examples to follow.