Segmented timber shell

Hi, I am new to Grasshopper and Karamba and would like to statically analyze a segmented timber shell of this type (see link:https://www.icd.uni-stuttgart.de/projects/segmented-timber-shell/ ). Therefore I designed the planar wood segments on the shell surface. I am unsure about the following aspects:
Do I have to use these single panels as “beam elements”?
And how can I define line supports under the three sides up?
And does anyone have an idea how I can attach the finger-joints?

Thanks a lot for your help,
Sarah

SegmentedTimberShell.3dm (1.4 MB) SegmentedTimberShell.gh (31.7 KB)

1 Like

Nice that you are using NGon for this, curious to see the outcome;)

Yes, that’s so great! :slight_smile:
Do you have any idea what the color black means here?

I think for Karamba, @clement will help, since he is the author.

Uhm, no, that should be Clemens @karamba3d

_
c.

Thank you both very much! Then again directly to @karamba3d:

This is now the current status. I still have problems with the following:
1.) As a line support, I simply added many point supports, that should correspond to that, right?
2.) How can I attach the finger joints? Should this be modeled by other plugins like “Timber Plate Structures” and will it be recognized by static calculations in Karamba? Or do the individual wood segments have to be somehow “beamed” in order to use the joints from Karamba?
3.) If I want to output the utilization at “shell view” my program crashes every time. Can you see the reason behind it?
4.) And finally, which “analyze” component would you recommend for this shell?

Best regards and thanks a lot,
Sarah
SegmentedTimberShellSONNTAG.3dm (1.4 MB)
SegmentedTimberShellSONNTAG.gh (72.1 KB)

Hi @sarah.schueller,

i cannot seem to run your script as it gives an error at the Brep. Can you somehow bake the breps and reference them in the file so that it doesnt rely on other plugins.