Rhino to 3dsmax

Hello,

I’m totally new in Rhino.
I need to export a project to 3ds max so I’m looking for the BEST WAY to export the rhino model to 3ds max AND I need to keep names / layers / group object.

Could you please tell me step by step how to do this ?

I had some success with obj, dwg but not totally… I would like to use IGES but I can’t find a solution to keep the hierachy

Any advices is welcome !
Thanks in advance

Hi Ricousto,

I’d try FBX format and see if that get the correct info across.

Let is know if you need more help
-Willem

Hello Willem,
I’ve got a lot of trouble with fbx, step, sat, iges, obj, dwg, 3ds etc…
In short, the “winner” is IGES (very clean and nice surfaces in 3ds max) but I have 2/3 times more object than in Rhino with the same name for all objects (“stitch_result_stitch all”)
The 2nd is OBJ but the meshes from surface are not as good as IGES. Anyway, I have all the objects with name as in Rhino !
For the other formats, I have no succes until now

I would like to know if Iges can keep the hierarchy (name’s ojects / layers / groups) from Rhino to 3dsmaxmax…
I didn’t find any option in this sense

@ricousto first thing to know - don’t expect to get ‘clean’ meshes from rhino in terms of subd modeling - if you want something in the middle check moi3d obj exporter - you’ll never get clean quad meshes out of rhino (maybe someday they will be “cleaner” although i don’t see a reason why they should be cleaner since they are representing objects better with fewer polygons than usual dense turbosmoothed meshes it is only a matter of your skills and proper using rhino mesher ) - that said iirc best possible way was to work with properly set dwg/dxf file set to solids in options.