Rhino 7 Subdivs working in Rhino 6?

Hello!
I’m new to Rhino SubDs (not to SubDs in general, though), so here’s a newbie question:
It is obviously possible to save a SubD object from Rhino 7 as a Rhino 6 file and open it there. The ‘What’ command even recognizes it as ‘SubD’ in R6, and it seems to be possible to edit it in the usual manner… face extrusions, component selection, … amazing!
How is that possible? Does R6 have SubD features already?

However, using SubDs would be perfect for a modelling job at hand, and I wonder if I should give it a shot in Rhino 7, hoping the pillars of the earth will not come crashing down on me, or go with R6, since it seems to work there anyway.
Thanks!
Best regards
Eugen

How is that possible? Does R6 have SubD features already?

Yes, it has some limited version of them since the beginning that were mostly hidden commands used for testing, it existed more behind the scenes. R6 doesn’t have all the subD tools and editing capabilities. If you are thinking of fully incorporating subD into your workflow you will not want to be using R6, especially as they add new features to them in R7. (and they exist in Grasshopper in R7 also, but not in R6)

Understood, thank you!
Would it be a wise idea to work in R7 already you think? Like are there still plenty of bugs and traps with SubDs, or are they ‘there’ already?
Hard to say I know… Just the general feeling.
Thanks!

Hi, Eugen,

If you’re going to use Rhino SubD, then you need to use Rhino WIP (V7).
(The subd support in Rhino 6 was a test, it is out of date, it is buggy, and it will never be fixed.)

Rhino SubD is V7 is a major new feature. Every weekly release of the Rhino WIP contains important SubD fixes and improvements. For some people, it is useful in its current state while others are waiting for more features.

2 Likes

Hello!
I jumped in and work with SubDs in R7 all day long now. No crashes yet.
The way they are implemented is pretty nice!
What I found until now: