Purchasing Rhino 5 Abroad

Hello,

First of all, if I have incorrectly posted here, I am sorry. I am unsure exactly where to post questions about the commercial end of this software. Most of the forum here seems to be scripting or modeling troubleshoot. However, I was unable to find a relevant category under which I could post this question. So, I am posting here.

I am an American student studying abroad for one year in Stuttgart, Germany. I am taking a computational design course that utilizes Rhino and Grasshopper to overcome parametric design obstacles, and unfortunately do not have my own copy of Rhino. I am getting to the point where I need to purchase a copy, and am wondering how exactly this process works. I was unable to find a way to purchase this online.

The order form that I found (http://order.mcneel.eu/rhino-educational.asp) seems to indicate the sending of a physical disk. Unfortunately, I am on a new generation MacBook running parallels and there is no disk drive. Is there no possibility to purchase Rhino online, receive a code, and download from the website? (preferably same-day but I understand the complexities of going against the norm).

Thank you all very much for your help.

(Menno Deij - van Rijswijk) #2

I guess you could contact the local reseller. For Germany there are multiple, for example http://www.datacad.de is in the Rheinland Pfalz region, which according to my rudimentary knowledge of German geography is close to Stuttgart.

Or check
http://www.rhino3d.com/sales/europe/Germany

PS. Is the - currently free while under development - copy of Rhinoceros for OS X not sufficient for your needs?

PPS. Parallels is not an officialy supported platform to run Rhino, the recommendation is to use Bootcamp.