Product design/presentation what's best Rhino, Solidworks, Fusion 360, ...?

Hello,

I’m a musician and designer and I’ve mostly used Cinema 4D in the past and a small cheap program called ViaCad for most of my presentations + photoshop but it’s not the easiest way to work. But some companies I work for (making guitar and plugin/VST user interface designs) seem to use Solidworks, which is quite expensive and hard to learn so I wonder if there are alternatives that can do the job at a smaller price tag ? Some people seem to suggest that Rhino is easier and very good for this kind of tasks. I know I’m on a Rhino forums but are there some people who have used Solidworks before and now use Rhino or other software and can give some insight on what are the pro’s and con’s ? I’d like to do for example a guitar design in 3D with photo realistic presentation and then being able to export it so the in house 3D cad guy can use my model for production too.

thanks so much,

best regards,
Hans

1 Like

If you are a designer, Rhino is the best way to go. The software allows you to create beautiful flowing surfaces and then EASILY change or experiment.

SolidWORKS is better for manufacturing and engineering. If the design is already done, then its linear (some call it ‘anal’) workflow is great for getting to a finished model. Using parametrics (‘history-based’) every dimension is input at every step of the way. This definitely helps when a change is needed after the model is completed, but many designers like to experiment with alternatives and build ‘test geometry’ to see how it looks … which is not easy or what SolidWORKS was designed to do.

The best answer to this hot-button question was given to me by a friend who did the following:

• Use Rhino to design, experiment, and make it beautiful with world-class rendering engines like V-Ray.
  • Then, bring the geometry into Solid WORKS for any shelling, bosses, or structural stuff.