Moving from Solidworks to Rhino

Hello,

So I’ve been using Solidworks for my 3D printing needs since about 2006.

I now have a copy of Rhino 5 and was wondering if there’s anyone out there that might be able to offer some insight in their experience from shifting over to Rhino from Solidworks in regards to modelling for 3D printing.

I’ve used Solidworks for organic “artistic” designs, with some being made of separate parts that need to fit and/or juxtapose together in a specific way.

The constraining capacity ( at just about any point in my models - and I don’t mean just a specific dimension of say a box for extrude; But like at a certain point along a lofted curved surface volume) of Solidworks was the strongest and most useful aspect that I needed and liked to use.

I am hoping as I learn Rhino I will be able to get the same utility out it.

Once feature of Solidworks that is usually promoted is its proceduralism. Meaning if you change one element of your assembly design many of the following related parts can be updated as well easily.

This may be true for something like a nuts and bolts mechanical machine, but with my organic designs ( lofting numerous different profiles along a 3d spline/guides ) , changes meant starting from scratch often.

What I am looking for as I am teaching myself how to use Rhino, to save on time in the learning curve having gave a general idea of what I wish to do - Any suggestions of what I may wish to consider while I explore? to avoid potential “gotchas”?

My understanding with Rhino is that it has both poly and nurbs modelling capacity. I actually have a limited understanding of both types. Solidworks seemed to insulate me from those considerations as I never had problems with getting my models printed. No having to check for “holes” or inverted meshes ( if there is such a thing ), etc. because I pretty well got what I saw on my screen.