Populate spikes on surface

Hi everyone,

I am working on a project with a curving shell with spikes on it. I would like to populate the curving geometry with multiple sizes of spikes. So essentially different blocks, linked to points on the surface and angled according to the curve of the surface [See the section]. Considering the large number of spikes I think this can be done efficiently in Grasshopper. However, I’ve never used grasshopper before. By now I managed to populate the points on the geometry. However, the points are also placed on the inside of the geometry which is not ideal since I would have to manually delete the spikes later. Can someone help me out with the next steps and how to get the points only on the outside of the geometry?

Many Thanks!

1 Like

Only if you post the geometry.

Geometry attached:

Geometry for spikes.3dm (9.4 MB)

Thanks!

What is your criteria for determining which faces of the brep are “inside” vs. outside?

Not sure how to define it in technical terms but basically the spikes should only be on the outer surface - so basically ‘outside’ ends where the geometry folds inwards and forms the opening. See screenshot.
Also spikes attached:

Spikes.3dm (127.0 KB)

There’s the rub, eh!?

Hmmm yeah I see. An alternative would be to populate them also on the inside and delete them manually afterwards?

This effort creates long lines normal to each PopGeo point, then checks to see if each line intersects the brep. If so, that point is ignored, otherwise it gets a “spike”. In this case, I used cylinders instead of spikes but the base plane for each is available if you want to Orient spikes you created in Rhino.

spikes_2021_Jun21a.gh (17.7 KB)

As you can see, it often works but there are cases where an internal spike pokes through one of the holes in the brep so there is no intersection and that internal spike is allowed.

Version ‘B’: this one replaces the cylinders with your spikes. (white group and Orient)