Perforated Geodesic Sphere

Hi guys,

I’m relatively new to GH so I’ll try to describe my problem as accurately as I can.

I would like to replicate a series of spheres with a varying number of perforations originating from points which I projected from Weaverbird’s Icosahedron’s vertexes. The perforations are obtained by a series of cylinders which are extruded along a vector intersecting the center of the sphere and each individual projected vertex.

As you can see from the image I have no problem with 1 or 2 subdivisions, but when I increase the icosahedron face subdivision to 3, the vectors won’t converge towards the center of the sphere.

Do you guys have any idea what I am missing?

Also, any suggestion on how to streamline my definition is really appreciated! Ideally I would like to change the diameter, the thickness and the number of perforations with the minimum steps as possible.

Thanks in advance,
Tommaso

Geodesic.gh (17.0 KB)

hey @TomX_X,

Maybe this? made it less exact (lazy) - re-scale at the end?

Also I wouldn’t rely on ‘project points’ command - brep closest point will work here.

Geodesic.gh (34.4 KB)

NOTE:
To “streamline” more go back to solid difference - switched to * trimming as booleans tend to be slower.

2 Likes

@corellaman Thanks for the prompt reply. I forgot to mention that I’m working with Rhino 5 for Mac. When I open your file I view the following message:

Here is a shot of the definition you suggested as viewed from my screen:

Could you please attach a shot of the whole definition so I can try to replicate it from my workstation?

Also, why are you suggesting to make the definition ‘lazy’?

Thanks for the support,
Tommaso

Going back to your initial problem, I believe that is being caused by the fact that once you go beyond an icosahedron in subdivisions, the triangles are no longer equilateral and therefore, not all of their normals will pass through the center point of the geometry.