Organic Surface Modeling in One Surface

Hi folks,
I don’t know if this is the right forum or not. If I’m in the wrong place, please redirect me. I’m running Rhino 5 (64 Bit). I’m interested in learning how to develop complex surface forms out of a single surface. I’ve seen it done before and have done some control point editing on a limited basis, but I’m not very good at it. I’d like to learn how to do it well. I’m looking to do something like what is pictured in the link below. Typically I’d try to build this up in sections and inevitably run into continuity and tangency issues.

The front surface of the chair looks like a single control point edited surface. The ottoman looks like it may have been developed from a primitive like a sphere. Another source has mentioned SubD surfacing and T-spline models. I saw that Autodesk is no longer offering the T-splines plugin and I don’t think SubD is available in Rhino 5.

If someone could point me in the right direction here I’d really appreciate it.

Thanks,

Michael D.

Tom Dixon Chair

Tom Dixon Chair

Hi Michael - for these shapes as a single ‘surface’ Nurbs will never do - you’ll need some form of SubD I would say. But even there if eventually your objects need to be nurbsified for some reason, they result will not be a single surface.

SubD modeling is available in the Rhino V7/WIP… other than that, you’ll need to venture into one of the several SubD modelers out in the world - Modo and such.

-Pascal

Hi Pascal,

I was just wondering to myself if you were still out there somewhere. Good to see you are! Thanks for the response. Would you say that Modo is best of breed for the Rhino compatible SubD modelers?

Best,
mD