MFA research project in open source fashion design

unhandled

(Amy Sperber) #1

hello, I am an MFA fashion design student at the Fashion Institute of Technology in New York, part of the very first cohort graduating in 2019.

My thesis is about creating an open source pattern system for the uncommon body ( in fashion terms that’s everyone one not on a runway)
I am currently taking body scans and using them in a 3d modeling system called clo3d.
I am manually adjusting the pattern geometry in the system to each unique body.

I am reaching out for guidance, can rhino be used to take the geography of a 3d body scan and affect the geometry of a 2d pattern?

I have a limited Knowlege of rhino and grasshopper; I am aware how to model using a unit mapper for 3d printing and fashion.

Any help would be much appreciated.

• if I can get this to work all of us can have pants that are a delight to wear.

regards
Amy Sperber

Hi Amy, I’ve developed a solution to “morph” design templates to any body scan. So: Yes, this can be done with Rhino, but it is quite a bit of work. If you really want to develop that as an open source project I’d recommend Grasshopper and Kangaroo. Good Luck!

(Amy Sperber) #3

jess,
Thank you for the feedback. Would this be a project you might be interested in helping me on or would you know someone who has the expertise to collaborate.
Amy

Hi Amy, there are many talented people around in this forum. I’m just an occasional grasshopper user. If you have a problem and post your questions here then you’ll get help. However, if you want to initiate an open source project then you should contribute something substantial in the first place. This could also be various fashion design templates.

(Luis Fraguada) #5

Hello @amy_sperber. We’ve been working on something similar since 2013 and have recently won a grant from the WEAR Sustain EU project. We call it GenCloth and we hope to have something ready to share by September 2018.