Make2D result go where I want

When I use _Make2D I have a couple issues I was hoping the forum could help me with.

1. The 2D drawing seems to go to random spots. I am thankful it moves away instead of a copy/paste in place… But I can’t find a command line feature or box to accurately locate it. It would be handy to be able to have the thing move to a defined location.

2. Similarly, it gives an option of typing in a name of the layer… but what if I have a template where I want it to go… Is there not a option to have it go to an existing layer such as "_-CopytoLayer has?

3. I have an obscene amount of layers and sublayers in my model, but I am only trying to make a 2D drawing of 6 layers… and I want to maintain attributes (layers/line color) from the original model. Problem is that the file tree of the Make 2D has 50 layers I don’t need in it. Is it possible that only the objects that I selected when I execute the command get moved over to the newly created layer/sublayers?

BTW I am not using “Layout Views” which may help me do what I need… or perhaps I just need to make a little Alias that makes a copy of what I am selecting for the Make2D and just project them to Cplane, and then _Move them where I want. As I type this- that is likely a better solution for me because the polylines would stay “Complete” As Make2D chops them up. Anyhow, would like to know the answers to above regardless.

Thanks.

-Chris

Hi Chris - can you take a screen grab of the dialog as you are using it?
You can type in the name of an existing layer as the target layer and this should be respected - are you finding that is not the case, or is it a matter of convenience/ UI inconsistency in selecting an existing layer as in CopyToLayer?
I am not sure I fully undestand the target layer problem - it may be that object layers are nested and the output is adding all the parent layer structure that you do not need?

-Pascal

I’ve had issues with this before, see this forum link