Looking to contract a designer for a project

Hello,

I am a guitar builder looking to begin manufacturing my guitars with a CNC. I have been using Vetric V-carve, but have maxed out its capabilities. I have Rhino 7 and have spent some time figuring it out a bit, but I just don’t have the time to dive in and would rather hire someone to design the guitar and guitar neck for me. I have 2D images of my guitar and neck design, but need someone to create 3D images, especially focused on the contours. Please let me know if you have experience with Rhino and would be interested in taking on the project.

Thank you,

Jay

I assume you are fairly new to Rhino and maybe even to V-carve. The setup you have is similar to mine and I have made more 3d parts than 2d. When you say you maxed out V-carve do you mean you’ve gone as far as you can with 2d and 2.5d, but haven’t done any 3d parts?

Rhino is excellent for doing 3d parts like guitars, in fact there are several guitar makers who are regulars on this forum.

The basic process, as you may already know, is to save your 3d Rhino model as a Rhino 5 .3dm file. This can then be read by V-Carve where you can set up the toolpaths and preview them in 3d similar to the perspective view in Rhino.

May I suggest that since you have a specific project that you just plunge in with Rhino and whenever you run into an area where you can’t discover what to do next just post your file and maybe some screenshots with a description of your issue. I’m certain you’ll get the help you need.

The advantage is that when you get your first guitar done you’ll know exactly how to do the second yourself.

I understand there’s also some pretty good guitar modeling videos on youtube.