Looking for TIPS for easy work with layers

Hi, people! I’m looking for some tips - How to make the best of work with layers.
Working on a jewelry project (the second one - I’m a beginner).
And I find myself loosing a lot of time turning off/on layers.
(I avoid to delete some parts which I might use.)
Anyway - there is not a possibility to color the stroke of a layer, nor make folders of layers (like in photoshop), at least I did not find. So I got confused all the time, because I need to read the name of layer and think if that’s the one which I need.
I did colored the layer object color and printing color, which helps a little. Thou it colors objects as well.
I will really love to know how you name your layers or any other tips on proper work on jewelry project.
May be you can attach screenshots…
Thanks a lot in advance!
:smile:

It is possible to make “folders of layers”, that is, to add sub-layers. Right-click on the Layer to show the context menu, and select “Create new sublayer”.

Also, if you click the black square in the layer, it is possible to change the layer color. This colours the objects that are in the layer, for easy reference.

1 Like

edit- posted at the same time as @menno… some of the following repeats what he said…

i’m not quite sure what you mean by ‘color the stoke of a layer’… if you mean change the color of the layer name text then you’re right… it will always be black.

‘folders of layers’ may be possible if i understand correctly… in rhino, you can have sub-layers.
if you click and hold on a layer name, you’ll notice that you can drag the name around in order to change its position in the list… you can also drag it on top of another layer and it will become a sub-layer… similar to how a folder structure works.

likewise, you can right-click on a layer name then choose ‘create new sublayer’ which will make a new empty layer within the main layer.