Learning curve timeline

My boss wants me to create a detailed terrain model of an area about 600 acres in area using Rhino. He wants me to give him an estimated completion date. I have no experience with Rhino and basic experience with CAD software (AutoCAD, Sketchup). Can anyone give me some insight on how quickly I might be able to get this thing done? Thanks!

This might save you some time.

http://www.rhinoterrain.com/en/rhinoterrain-1.html#.U8W0r_ldXpA

I believe it can import Google Earth data (too)…

Hi
I’ve seen a video where Sketchup was used to bring Google Earth data into Rhino.

Michael VS

Thank you! I will definitely look into that.

That’s awesome! However, the model is of how we plan to reclaim the site, not of the current topography. I should have mentioned that before.

Hi Erin,

What data do you have to work with?
For example, do you have spot heights from a survey, or contour lines etc…?

Hi David. I will have contour lines of the topography. To give you a better idea, we want a large pond around 100 acres large with a lot of vegetation surrounding it.

You may be interested by Lands Design if you need also the vegetation.
I have not tested the vegetation part but relief was ok.

Thanks Alan! Is Lands Design a free plug-in? I know RhinoTerrain is not.

oh nevermind. I see that it’s a free work in progress version. Thanks!

Hi Erin,

If you are able to upload your contours I’d be happy to take a look for you.

There are quite a few native Rhino modelling techniques you can use to generate a terrain surface, depending on how sophisticated and detailed you want your result to be.

• The most basic method to start with would be to use the ‘patch’ command to try to fit a NURBS surface through your contours.
  • Alternatively, you could extract the edit points of each contour and use those points to generate a mesh. The Grasshopper plugin would be useful for this, have you come across this already?

Hi David,