Intel Xeon Phi

Greetings to all members of the forum. I would like to express my gratitude for the abundance of valuable information that has been shared here, which has significantly contributed to my understanding of the software. As a professional architect, I have encountered challenges while working on a project that involves a complex geometry with many faces, twisting seamlessly in a non-planar environment. In my search for solutions, I came across an old YouTube video discussing the Xeon Phi CPU and its ability to offload certain calculations, freeing up the main CPU for other activities. While investing in a higher-end CPU would be the most effective option, it would require a costly upgrade of several components in my PC. Thus, I would like to inquire:

1. Is it possible to configure Rhino to offload calculations to another CPU in the PCI-Express slot?
  2. If so, have any forum members experienced this setup?
  3. Lastly, what level of impact does this configuration have on performance?

Thank you for taking the time to review my inquiry, and I look forward to engaging with the community in the future.

I have a machine with a xeon phi card, and while it is possible to give it work to do, it is in no way simple – it runs its own operating system, a flavor of linux, and you have to compile your code to run on it, since it is a different architecture, similar to how apple silicon is a different architecture and requires code to be compiled specifically for it.