How to Create Revit Floor from Rhino Topography Surface or Mesh

Is there a way to create a Revit Floor from a Rhino surface or mesh which is not flat? I have a complex 3d carpark surface which I would like to convert into a Revit Floor but currently the only input in the Add Floor option in Rhino Inside Revit is a 2d boundary (horizontal and planar)?

You want a floor that has a modified slab with points at various elevations?

Hi Ehsan,
Yes, that is correct. I am a landscape architect and documenting complex paving surfaces is very difficult in Revit, as you have to modify the elevation of individual points. As a result, we model these surfaces in Rhino, and would like to export them into Revit as a Revit floor element (to enable exchange with our architect colleagues). I can export a complex surface into Revit as a Toposurface, but as you know, a Toposurface in Revit only has infinite depth and no structural layers.
regards
Chris

Okay. So is it okay if the input of this hypotetical component is a Rhino mesh? I’m thinking it can read the mesh vertices, and create a floor that has those vertices set as slab points.

On another note, do you need to create Revit native floors? How about bringing the geometry in as a DirectShape that is categorized as a floor?

Yes, I can convert a rhino surface to a mesh if required before exporting.

In regards the to the appropriate category in Revit, most landscape architects typically use Revit Floors as the best way to create landscape hard paving elements, as it allows us to add structural layers (i.e. the paver, the crushed rock it sits on, filter fabric etc…) which is revealed when we cut a section. If it is a native Revit Floor, we can modify the display qualities of the element (i.e. hatch, colour, line type etc…) Is this possible with a DirectShape?
Kind regards
Chris

1 Like

No not any of that is possible with DirectShapes. They’re pretty much generic geometry wrappers. Ok let me see what I can do

Thanks so much,