How to create a concrete reinforcement toolbox with Rhino?

Hi everyone,

This post is a bit long, so just to bring the essential first, I am a civil engineer working for a 1000 people engineering company (https://www.setec.fr/en/). We are designing bridges, towers, and power plants.

I am working for our scientific direction, where I am in charge of developping new tools between engineering softwares (finte elements) and 3D / BIM softwares. From my own experinece with Rhino, I think it is the perfect environment to develop “software bridges”. But as I said I am just a civil engineer, and I need good advice here. Lukilly you’re here ! :wink: Here above I briefly describe what I’ve been doing with scripts so far, what I need to do now, and what kind of help I really need.

What I have been doing so far
I have been using RhinoScript for a couple of years, and so far I’ve been quite happy with it. From drawing a parametric bridge (200 lines) to more recent applications (1000 lines), my scripts became a bit more complex, using .TXT files to store a database describing civil engineering structures for example.

What I need to do now
Now I have a more complex project. I need to develop a “toolbox” for an engineer to start from its calculation results (.TXT files) and create with rhino a parametric reinforcement model of a building, and then export it to TEKLA, for draftsmen to take over detailed drawings. See above for more details.

What kind of help do I need
I want to make sure I use an appropriate dev environment. In other words, can I just stay with separate scripts that I load one by one, or should I move to real dev environments, using Visual Studio for example.
I have never used Visual Studio but I looked at what other people did with it and it looks good :
https://repository.tudelft.nl/islandora/object/uuid%3Ab41a1e0f-d885-4bea-910f-0b80e8020f74