Introduction to Python in Grasshopper

Hi there,

I am a young architect (traditional “building” architect, not software architect) and I have been using Rhino and Grasshopper for about 8 years now. I honestly love this software and I would love to expand my knowledge. I also began to study Python recently and I would like to start implementing some code into my workflow.

So, I am starting this topic with the idea of receiving some advice and some clarification about stuff things that doesn’t make sense to me right now. I would appreciate it if someone can explain the questions I have in the simplest possible words, since I am new to this. Also, I wanted to say that I did some reaserch already and I read through this forum and through the RhinoDev website, and still have many doubts.

My idea would be to use Python within Grasshopper to create custom components (and eventually, in the future, plugins). I will list my main questions below:

1 - What is RhinoCommon? Is it a library containing many methods and classes written in C# that are useful when developing in Rhino?

2 - What is RhinoScriptSynthax? Is it the “way” one can access the RhinoCommon library from inside a GHPython component? Or is it something completely different?

3 - What is the difference between using “import Rhino”, “import RhinoScriptSynthax” or “import ScriptContext” inside an GHPython component? Because so far I understand you can do many similar things with all of these 3, for example, creating a line.

4 - How does IronPython work inside Rhino and Grasshopper? Is it right to say that basically, IronPython “receives” orders written in Python synthax and “translates” them internally to C# in order to use the RhinoCommon library?

Once again, I know that I can search on the internet for most of these answers and find a result, but so far I couldn’t really understand them and I am posting them here in order to receive an explanation with simpler and understandable terms.

Thanks in advance,