Having trouble adapting to the Mac version from PC

hello,

i’ve been using Rhino for Windows for many years and have been very interested in using the Mac version as well. The thing is that i’m really having trouble finding my way around Rhino for Mac since so many things behave completely different and things are not where i expect them to be. I spend a lot of time hunting around to find the features which are only a click or shortcut away in the Windows version. I’ve also come quite used to my 3dconnexion Space Pilot with Rhino and that just don’t want to behave in the Mac version to the point of being nearly unusable.

i don’t quite understand why McNeel doesn’t do a 1:1 conversion and is moving so many things around. This wouldn’t be so bad if the command line at least would function the same way, with the options of most commands being in the left pane with the UI my speedy workflow from the PC version is gone on the mac.

am i alone in this ?

No, but long ago it was decided there would be little or no “crossover” between PC and Mac, that PC and Mac Rhino users would never work together in the same environment and that anyone who was on the borderline would be considered an edge case and could safely be ignored…

My advice to you… if you’re used to the PC version, stick with it…

–Mitch

Isn’t Mac for hipsters mostly? To do their hipster stuff… :smirk:

I only ever bring mine to the coffee shop.

But… there were two possible routes - make Rhino for Mac Rhino-like or make it Mac-like, and the decision was that making it Mac-like was probably the better bet overall.

-Pascal

haha … yeah my friends tell me sometimes that i’m weird, i guess this confirms it :stuck_out_tongue: