Drawing lines

I have been working with rhino for several years but i must say that drawing an organic line is a real pain in the … or maybe i am doiing something wrong. A long time ago i used to draw with 3d studio where it was fairly easy to draw a line and if you wanted to change it you just had to click on a point to change it from kink to handlebar.
Today i tried again to draw a line as a base for a cable on a bicycle so it is not in a plane. I guess i am doiing something wrong but just cannot get the hang of it. How do you do such a thing without the line goiing in all directions if you move one point.

Regards, René

Hi Rene,

Can you post a sample file showing where you are stalling at?

Have a look here: Rhino 6 Wishlist - Gumball "Align to View" Mode

I’d second @jean77flip’s comment about T-Spline drag mode, it’s really very useful, especially for the sort of stuff you’re talking about, rene1.

Take a look here as an example, it works really well with the plugin (which is EOL next month): https://youtu.be/AFumwfl5beI

Any chance of this functionality being added to V6? (hopefully before the sub-d development/release)

Andy

Here is rendering of what i want to do or actually allready did. It only took me to much time. It is about the cable from the brakelever to the rear brake.

René

That looks pretty neat with t-splines. But then i have to buy t-splines whicht does not come very cheap.

Hi René,

As you do not elaborate on your workflow I’m going to throw in some suggestions:

Do you use Control points or Edit points as edit points are influencing a larger span of the curve. So use Controlpoints!

If the editing causes too much transform try to rebuild the curve to a higher pointcount before editing.

Make sure your Osnaps are not causing points to snap way off

Make sure Planar is On to prevent points from jumping to the cplane

Does this help? Please elaborate with a simple example file on the problem you encounter.

Groeten
-Willem