Creating 3D surface from cross sectional curves

Hi guys!
I’m pretty new to Rhinoceros, and is running into the problem of using Loft command.
The objective of my project is to use 2D cross sectional curves to reconstruct the 3D surface model. The above problem arose because I have two curves in same elevation.
When I use Loft, Rhino creates surfaces that fills inside the gaps between the curves within same elevation. I also have this very ugly crease at the bottom which I don’t know how to resolve.
Please help me troubleshoot these problems. In advance, I appreciate any help and tips on how to create such model! Thanks!
-Jasmine

Here is the link to the screenshots I took.

Hi Jasmine - that is a tough one to handle with a single Loft surface - NURBS surfaces do not lend themselves easily do construction of branching shapes - the four-sided structure that they have starts to get in the way. What you’d do is make the parts (three - the ‘base’ and the ‘branches’) and then, the hard part, figuring out how to bridge nicely across. If you post a 3dm file with the curves, we can probably get you pointed in the right direction.

-Pascal

Thank you for the input Pascal! I will definitely try your suggestion!
Here is the 3dm file that I uploaded to mega.nz because it won’t let me upload files here somehow D:

https://mega.nz/#!k9JRjbiB!BZ1cga2IZK15moOwnPN_EVMbY_GACfpoXT_inqjxCJk

This might be a weird question. But is there any good software out there that handles this kind of situation well? Because for the next few weeks I will only be using CAD software for this purpose. Thank you guys for helping guy :smiley:

Yeah… this will not be easy with just this input - what is it, exactly? Is there any way to get more of an idea of what you want it to look like?

-Pascal

Hi Pascal,

So the curves you see are actually traces of the MRI spine images.